Continental Focus, International Reach

BP Partners with Algerian National Paralympic Committee

Monday, April 1, 2019

BP Algeria signed an agreement with the Algerian National Paralympic Committee (ANPC) which sees it become a top-level partner and the official oil, gas and energy partner through to the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games.

BP is the first oil and gas business to become an official partner of the ANPC.

A signing ceremony was held at the British Embassy in Algiers.

“We are proud of our partnership with the Algerian National Paralympic Committee and to support such amazing and inspirational athletes,” said Hesham Mekawi, BP’s Regional President for North Africa.

“Our goal is to help support the Algerian Para-athletes by providing opportunities and resources to help them excel on the world stage.

“BP is committed to further developing strong links with our community and partners in Algeria.

“BP will also look to support official IPC (International Paralympic Committee) sports events in Algeria, helping to enable the growth of Para-sports in the country and promote Algeria’s credentials for hosting regional and international sporting events.”

A signing ceremony was held at the British Embassy in Algiers ©BP

Mohammed Hachefa, President of the ANPC, added: “We are proud to call BP a member of the ANPC family of sponsors and we are excited that BP will join us on the journey with the Algerian Paralympians through 2020.”

The Tokyo 2020 Paralympics is due to be held from August 25 to September 6.

BP has been a partner of the Paralympic Movement since 2008 and is an official partner of the IPC.

The IPC renewed its partnership with BP for another four years in September 2016, during that year’s Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.

BP became a partner of London 2012 and from there started to partner with National Paralympic Committees (NPCs).

In 2013, it took a major step when it made a long-term deal to become an international partner of the IPC.

BP has supported a number of NPCs, including those of Angola, Azerbaijan, Egypt, Georgia, Germany, Great Britain, the Netherlands, Senegal, Singapore, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates and the United States